Guide to Buy a Dog For The First Time Owners

Nayanjyoti Das
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2021

It has been lockdown because of Covid for a year now. We humans have been sitting idle at home all this time. I am a person who has always been very keen on learning new skills. So, I started with learning ukulele and eventually learning digital painting now. I also love watching TV (most of the time, YouTube). So this lockdown, I have been watching a lot of pet videos.

Somewhere deep inside my heart, I always wanted to have a dog for myself.

Photo by Chewy on Unsplash

I planned to get a four-legged friend for myself now. There were a lot of questions in my mind. How do I take care of him? How do I feed him? What do I feed him? When do I feed him? I am a bachelor. I stay in Noida in my 1bhk. Will this space be sufficient for him to do his daily activities.

These questions were overwhelming in my mind repeatedly. I was scared too. But I finally made my mind to get him. Now, the next question poked my head.

Which dog breed to buy?

I did some research on the internet. I tried to find a dog that will suit my lifestyle. I am a person who is more of a couch potato. I used to stay in a 1bhk as I mentioned above. So, I had to go for a small dog breed. I had two dog breeds in my head, Beagle and Pug. But somewhere deep inside I liked pug more. But pug comes with lots of health issues and added responsibilities.

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Pug dogs

The Pug is often described as a lot of dogs in a small space. These sturdy, compact dogs are a part of the American Kennel Club’s Toy group, and are known as the clowns of the canine world because they have a great sense of humor and like to show off. Originally bred to be lap dogs, Pugs thrive on human companionship. They’re highly sensitive, and though they can make for great apartment pets, they will not appreciate being left home alone for long hours of the day. Although these pups have a stubborn side, especially when it comes to house training, they’re playful, affectionate dogs who will get along well even with novice pet parents. If you’re looking for a loving, easygoing pal, this may be the breed for you!

So finally I got him from a nearby pet shop. Because of Covid's lockdown, the prices of dogs were high. I got him at around 20,000 INR. I asked some of my friends and they said pug used to be available at around 15000–18000 INR. When I saw him for the first time, I had an everlasting smile on my face.

Image by writer

“This is my 1st pic with my little guy!!!”

I will continue writing about my experiences with him in my next blogs.

--

--

Nayanjyoti Das
ILLUMINATION

I have completed my M.tech in Communication and Signal Processing from Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur.