I Have A 2022 Highlander LE, Why Do I Take The Bus?

Learning to sacrifice pleasure for leisure

Hakeem Gunn
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJan 5, 2023

--

Dark gray 2022 Toyota Highlander in empty parking lot. Rocky hill the background.
Photo by Gabriel Tovar on Unsplash

For context, my wife is a stay-at-home mom, so we’re currently operating off one vehicle. Since she has to deal with doctor appointments, errands, etc., it makes more sense for her to keep our vehicle while I’m at work.

My job is roughly 30 minutes from our house, and I work five days a week. My wife also takes her mother to work, which is approximately 25 minutes away, and she also works five days a week.

So imagine, to get me to work, we’re making two trips: the trip there and back. To pick me up is the same. The same goes for my mother-in-law. In total, we’re looking at eight trips in one day.

Remember some time back (some would say it’s still current) when gas prices were through the roof? Well, while budgeting, I was trying to figure out how we were missing roughly $800 for two consecutive months. The first month I chalked it up to miscellaneous spending and not paying closer attention to our funds.

The second month? I saw a pattern. When I discussed it with my wife and reviewed our account, the issue was clear: gas.

Two weeks later, I was on the bus.

My mother-in-law’s trips were limited as well, she’s older, of course, so after a day of working, I know she appreciates a ride home more than a ride to work. This eliminated the four trips for me and two trips for her. The savings was ridiculous.

The transition wasn’t easy, but it was worth it. Riding the city bus means getting up two hours earlier, dealing with strangers from all walks of life, the occasional torrential downpour here in Florida, freezing your butt off on the bus after getting soaked, and the list goes on.

What do I get in return? This:

4 AM-5 AM: 45-minute workout and then breakfast.

5 AM-5:20: AM Get ready and head to the bus stop.

5:35 AM-6:20 AM: While on the bus — Bible reading and then working on articles.

6:20 AM-6:55 AM: Pray while walking to the job, then go over affirmations.

Work doesn’t start until 7:30, so I have another half hour to put toward whatever I need to, and this also means I’m never late.

With this schedule, by the time I get to work, I’ve already deposited into my physical, spiritual, and mental tank before the day begins.

Best of all, my wife gets to sleep in instead of waking up to take anyone to work.

The moral of the story?

Sometimes you have to sacrifice pleasure to earn leisure.

I’m getting a higher quality of life though it comes at the cost of something else. Trust me, when the skies open up and thrash every pedestrian, my Highlander sounds highly tempting.

Some of you may be thinking: “can’t you do all that without having to ride the bus?”

My answer: maybe. I’ve tried, and I’ve failed. The only thing I consistently do is pray. Aside from that, I’d miss a day or two of the other items.

Why does riding the bus work?

Because having the external variable of the bus acts as an accountability partner of sorts. It forces me to be better or suffer the consequences.

So ask yourself, what can you change to acquire a higher quality of life? What do you have to let go of to lay hold of something greater?

--

--