Photo by Brian Kyed on Unsplash

I Have No Idea What Non-binary Means, or Much of Anything Any More

But that doesn’t mean I don’t care.

Julia E Hubbel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJun 13, 2020

--

The older I get, the more I pull out of the maelstrom of the mainstream, by design. By design, that also means that there will be news I haven’t heard, changes in terminology that confuse the hell out of me, and popular slang that is impossible for me to interpret. For example I do not buy the notion that an entire generation hijacked the word “OK” to be rude. I still use it liberally, without any intention of offending anyone. It’s been in the vernacular since the 1830s, and will be around long after its current iteration as an insult.

These days I spent a lot of time overseas (well, normally) and I also don’t watch the news. I like silence, reading, writing, working, thinking.

I no longer work directly in the diversity universe in corporate America, albeit I do in my areas of expertise as a consultant. About the time I left full time diversity work, a number of brand new words had entered the lexicon to describe what can be a rather dizzying array of new ways to self-identify via gender.

Those terms have multiplied since then.

Here’s a list:

  • pansexual (gender-blind sexual attraction to all people)
  • omnisexual (similar to…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
ILLUMINATION

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.