I Interviewed Medium’s New CEO. Here’s What He Shared About His Plans for the Future.

Sinem Günel
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJul 17, 2022

--

Image by Author

I had the honor to host the first-ever interview with Medium's new CEO Tony Stubblebine.

As a writer who's been on Medium since 2018, I've known Tony's work for years. When I started to grow one of Medium's largest communities for writers, he joined the conversation, answered questions, tried to understand what writers are up to, and we even hosted an interview in early 2021 to help writers grow their audience and impact.

I was thrilled to hear that he's stepping in as the new CEO because I experienced first-hand how much he genuinely cared about the community for years.

You can find the replay of the full interview on Youtube:

Here are the core ideas Tony shared:

Medium's core mission is to spread great ideas.

Tony has worked with Medium founder Ev Williams for over a decade. Through this background, he had a great sense of what Medium is and which purpose it fulfills.

--

--