I KEEP HOPE ALIVE

Audrey Vivian
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readOct 15, 2023
Photo by Carl Hunley Jr on Unsplash

I keep hope alive when the storms seem persistent

When situations seem unchanging after much struggles

When the nights of unending tears brings ugly times

I keep hope alive

When tears cover my eyes just as a river covers the dry land

Trials and afflictions constantly knocking on my door like a thief ready to steal something from me

Times spent and wasted on suffering, a suffering that makes happiness to elude me

Bothered in the morning

Restless at day time

Sleepless at night

Even then, I keep hope alive

For in the darkest nights, hope’s gentle flame shall rise

Guiding me through trials and binding ties

Like a fragile flower, hope blooms in my hearts

Nurturing my spirits, refusing to depart

When storms of despair descend and my life feels grim

Hope whispers softly, reminding me to stay strong

I keep hope alive

My hope dances on the edges of uncertainty

Embracing the unknown with bold audacity

Like a rising sun, hope paints the sky with joy

When all seems lost, hope’s hand gently extends

I keep hope alive

Because through valleys of sorrow, hope remains steadfast

Urging us to keep moving and forming a new path.

@Audrey Vivian

African American Writer

--

--

Audrey Vivian
ILLUMINATION

A poet, LinkedIn writer, public speaker and a content creator. Support, join and enjoy my writing @LinkedIn.com/Vivian Omeokwe and on medium.com/@prettyviv109