I Know the Magic We Call LIFE

A story of a journal

Meliha Avdic
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readOct 13, 2022

--

I designed this cover, but it is not the final idea

“Her life is much more interesting than mine.” — I heard this just this morning.

I don’t know how many times I’ve heard people say boring, bad, derogatory things about their life. When I was younger I believed them, at least until they told me something about their life. I have never met anyone who lived a truly boring life. Not one person, even though, as an activist, I have listened to 1000s of people.

So why do people think so badly about their own life?

This idea moved me so much that I wrote a book called Just Another Life. Like many of these people I met, my protagonist did not live just another life, but in her view she did.

However, now I want to go a step further. I would like people to see what I see. I want everyone to see their life as something magical. For that purpose, I’ve designed a journal.

It’s not available for purchase yet, but it will soon be available to pre-order. Details later.

--

--

Meliha Avdic
ILLUMINATION

Born in Bosnia, grew up in the UK-another war child, yes. Passionate about people and the state of society. A bit of a maverick, apparently. www.meliha.uk