I Lived in the Mountains for 60 Days and This Happened

Caution: Many pictures ahead

M Raj Shekhar
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMay 27, 2023

--

I Lived in the Mountains for 60 Days and This Happened
Photo by onkar gotale on Unsplash

Exactly one year ago, I moved out of my house to a different location as work from home at my company ended and I had to start working from the office.

This was the first time I was moving to a city called Pune in India. I had no idea about this city, and I didn’t research it either, because I wanted to explore the city without any preconceived notions and take in the raw experience.

It was 8 in the morning, and as soon as I reached, I could sense a freshness in the air. I took the cab and went towards my rented place. It was on the outskirts of the city. I saw the mesmerising scenic view along the journey. As we were getting closer to our destination, I could see huge mountains in front of me.

The beautiful roads are carved out of the mountains. I had no idea I was about to witness the serene beauty I would cherish for the rest of my life.

The apartment I was in was also built on hills, and beside it was another gigantic mountain. Luckily, I had a very beautiful view from my balcony and the terrace, as you can see in the below image.

I Lived in the Mountains for 60 Days and This Happened
Image clicked by the author
I Lived in the Mountains for 60 Days and This Happened
Image clicked by the author

One day, I and my two friends decided to climb the mountain as far as we could. The decision taken just for fun resulted in an amazing experience.

Out of excitement, we started our way to the top. It was pretty easy when we started, but as we moved forward, the inclination increased, making it difficult for us to even stand properly.

Mountains in Pune
Image clicked by the author

At first, we thought we would just climb straight, as it seemed to be the shortest path to reach the top, but it is the most useless idea that only a noob can suggest.

Thankfully, one of my friends had some experience in climbing, and he taught us how to put our foot forward and which direction to take so that we would not fall.

After a long trek and lots of slips, we somehow reached a place where we could stand properly, and it was close to the top, but sadly, we didn’t go ahead because it looked dangerous to go up from there, and we were also not used to it, so we decided to rest there for a while and enjoy the view.
It was amazing that we could see the whole city from there, and it was astonishing.

After spending some peaceful time talking about life, we were ready to return to our place. We were happy that we almost climbed to the top, but little did we know that the hardest part was waiting ahead.

Yes, it is more difficult to come down than to climb up. It is more difficult than it seems; the slightest mistake could lead to a big problem. You have to be extremely careful; even a tiny slip will cause you to fall to the bottom, which may cause severe injuries.

But anyway, carefully, we completed our journey. We were dead tired, but it didn’t feel much compared to what we had just experienced.

I lived there for two months, and it was one of the best days of my life. Every day was so cheerful and refreshing. One thing that I also liked about the city was its weather. It was so pleasant.

I will cherish this experience for the rest of my life.

Have you ever experienced something like this? I would love to know.

--

--

M Raj Shekhar
ILLUMINATION

I like to write about my life's experiences and sharing what I have learnt out of those experiences that shaped me to be a better human being.😄