Nayanjyoti Das
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2020

--

I lost 35 Pounds!!! Without any exercise

My journey from Fat to Fit in a period of 3 months.

Photo by Bill Oxford on Unsplash

I am someone, who have undergone the challenges in life, which every fat person can relate to. My age is 28 years now and I am 5.8 feet tall. My weight is 74 kilos (163 Pounds) now!!!

I was always fat since my childhood. I used to be 80 kilos (176 Pounds) in my class 10th. I always planned to work on my weight. But I always had an excuse for myself that I was busy with my college work and other “so called” important things in life.

In February of 2020, I checked my weight and I was all shocked. I was weighing 90 kilos (198 Pounds)! I never weighed so much in my life before. I was really sad and pissed off about it. I didn’t want to look myself in the mirror. I stopped being comfortable in my own body. The confidence in me was getting blurry day by day.

My life style and food habits directly reflected the way I looked and the weight I gained since years!!!

My BMI when I was 90 kilos

I promised to work on myself and regain my health and self confidence!

My Weight loss Journey Started !!!

It was mid-February 2020(17–02–2020), I realized I have to completely change my life style and eating habits so as to change the way I look. I went through my bank account statement, to find that I spend nearly 45–50 thousand rupees(INR) for my food. Only 1/4th of these was health food other than that, ‘everything was junk!!!’.

I used to regularly go out with friends and grab a lot of food and drinks. I also used to order food regularly at home from the restaurants.

I used to order large, really large meals like 1.5 kilo (3.3 Pounds) of Biryani or two medium sized Pizzas. This was my single meal !!!

Photo by Alan Hardman on Unsplash

I could not hit GYM because I am a nerve patient. The doctor prescribed me, not to lift heavy weights as it could lead to partial paralysis. So, I was only left with an option, That is DIETING!!!

My healthy range of weight according to the BMI index was around 68 kg.

So I was to reduce my weight by 22 kilos (48.5 Pounds). That was a lot to achieve! So, I wanted to achieve the target weight by 1st January 2021. I knew a lot of struggle and hard work is waiting for me to achieve my goal.

My Goal BMI after weight loss

I started cutting out the carbs from my diet. As Indians we have a lot of carbs and species in our diet which is one of the biggest reason for gaining weight. The biggest source of carbs which I was having was Rice and Chapatis. So, I cut-off both of them totally from the diet.

Photo by Louis Hansel @shotsoflouis on Unsplash

The other biggest component which was contributing in my weight gain was Junk food. I stopped myself from consuming any of them. I started craving for food and started feeling depressed sometimes, as I could see everyone else enjoying and eating all kinds of food which I could not eat anymore.

But I was really focused about my GOALS!!! I kept going.

I added more protein sources into my daily meal. Its really important to understand the game of micro-nutrients in the body. You have to learn how to play with the micro-nutrients.

My daily consumption was 1450 calories.

For protein I used Tofu, Soy Chunks, Curd, Chicken, Fish and Whey. I used to consume protein from any two of these sources everyday. I changed my carbs sources to fruits and vegetables. I also had complex carbs rather than normal carbohydrate. The best source of complex carbs are Brown bread, oats, multi-grain flour.

I followed a non-strict diet which allowed me to eat whatever I like but in a lower proportion. I ate spicy food, cakes, cream and Ghee etc… !!!

I started seeing results within weeks!!!

I loosed 16 kilos (35 Pounds) in just 3 months.I still have 4 to 5 kilos (8–11 Pounds) to achieve my final weight goal. I wish to achieve it soon !!!

Here I am adding the before and after photos. So that you can make out how much weight I loosed.

Weight loss Before and After

I can share my diet plan and the dishes which I discovered in these whole process of Dieting.

Health is wealth!!! Love yourself….

--

--

Nayanjyoti Das
ILLUMINATION

I have completed my M.tech in Communication and Signal Processing from Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur.