I lost weight over 15 years ago and have kept all the habits to stay in shape

Martin van Soest
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readApr 29, 2021

--

Back in 2006, I was looking at pictures of my holiday. One featured me in the pool and I did not like it one bit. Somehow I never noticed that my belly had grown substantially. It was time to change things up if I wanted to be able to share my pool pictures with other people.

Definitely not me in 2006. Image by Matan Ray Vizel from Pixabay.

This article may be a bit lengthy for you, but I can’t tell it properly without taking you along on my journey. Consider getting a snack before you start reading. Instead of providing a TL-DR, I have highlighted some of bits of my best motivation boosters in italic so that you don’t miss them in this wall of text.

At the time I was 30, weighing over 80 kg (175 lbs) with my 1.75m (5'9") height. I used to be very athletic. In my twenties, I used to go out and exercise daily, but that had been replaced by work and leisure time in bars with friends.

I did not want to go on a diet, I did not want to do anything too radical. I wanted to lose weight and sustain my goal over the years. I broke down my problem into a very simple equation: if I eat more than I burn, I’ll get fat. No research was involved. This made sense to me, so I analyzed my eating patterns and activities that burn calories.

My past ‘exercise’ patterns

--

--

Martin van Soest
ILLUMINATION

I write Medium Chrome Extensions and about anything that sparks my interest: hings that amaze, touch, or surprise me.