I Love Running, but Running Doesn’t Love Me

Confessions of an almost 40-year-old

Lorraine Posthuma
ILLUMINATION

--

Jamie (my sister-in-law) and me after a half marathon in Colorado, 2017
Jamie (my sister-in-law) and me after a half marathon in Denver, Colorado, 2017

After I had my daughter at 29, I started to run.

I didn’t call it running at first. I barely even called it jogging because I could only “jog” for about 3 minutes.

Determined to succeed at this sport, I decided to buy really good running shoes and go for a jog any chance I got. And as you know if you’ve ever been a mom to a newborn, it’s almost impossible to get time by yourself.

When my daughter was 5 months old, I could escape for 20 minutes in the day. It wasn’t easy, but it was my goal and my husband and other family members helped to make it happen.

Like I said, I could only go for 3 minutes when I first started my jogging journey. I was learning how to run on the balls of my feet. What I mean by that is my foot would touch the ground like this: ball-heel, ball-heel, ball-heel.

I had purchased barefoot running shoes, so I needed to learn how to use them. Plus, at the time (2012) ball-heel running was becoming popular.

My peak running years were 2014–2018.

I was on fire then. Early 30s, here I come with my barefoot running…

--

--

Lorraine Posthuma
ILLUMINATION

Seeing France 🇫🇷 through American eyes. 🇺🇸 Want to connect? Or looking for a Freelance SEO Content Writer? Contact me: lorraineposthuma@gmail.com