I Made a Nude Calendar of Myself to Hang on My Wall

You can do it too.

Caitlin Jill Anders
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo of author by Cristen Geller

As the year ended, I was faced with the annual task of ordering a new calendar to hang on my wall. I think the tradition started when I was a kid. My mom would get us each a different themed calendar to hang somewhere in our room, and even once I moved out on my own, I knew I wanted to continue the trend.

I started to figure out my next calendar and realized I’d be sad to see my current one go. I’ve loved being able to look up from my bed over the past year and see a smiling face staring back at me each month.

Of course, every single month, the smiling face is me — and I’m also topless.

I used to order nude or semi-nude calendars of models I admired because it felt fun and I liked supporting their careers, but as 2019 was coming to a close, I couldn’t find a new nude calendar I was happy with. Eventually, I had an epiphany. Why not just make one myself?

Making a nude calendar of myself was something I’d always wanted to do, and initially, I thought it would be fun to do it specifically as a gift for a partner. Doing it for myself actually seemed way more fun though. If I was going to have a nude calendar on my wall anyway, it might as well be of me, right?

--

--

Caitlin Jill Anders
ILLUMINATION

Queer, polyam, neurodivergent Los Angeles based writer with a lot of stories to tell. I enjoy being myself and talking about sex.