I Made My First 17 Cents As A Content Creator And It Felt Fantastic

Finally, I started producing content.

Mari Concepcion
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 29, 2021

--

Image by Jerzy Górecki from Pixabay

Yesterday, I published my first article on Medium. I didn’t expect much since it was my first time submitting a blog post to a publication.

I thought, “who would read my article if I’m still a nobody here on the platform?” I barely had any followers. Plus, I wasn’t really sure if my writing would pass Illumination’s standards.

But I dived headfirst and hit publish. To my surprise, Dr. Mehmet Yildiz, the founder of Illumination, accepted my article within 3 hours.

Oh, boy! I couldn’t contain my excitement. Now, I can say my journey as a content creator here on Medium has officially begun.

As I said, I didn’t expect much from my first article. Then, I saw my stats and what do you know! I already earned $0.17 in less than 24 hours.

My current stats for my first article on Medium.

It seems like a minor achievement. Since it was my first win here on Medium, I couldn’t be more grateful. Here are the reasons why this $0.17 means the world to me right now.

I Have The Opportunity to Write Blogs That Resonate With Me

I never had a chance to write articles that reflect my voice. Technically, I could, but there’s just no guarantee that I’d make a living out of it.

As a millennial who’s still trying to figure out her place in the world, I got a lot to say. That’s why I gave writing on Medium a shot. Maybe some people would find my voice worth listening to while earning some money on the side.

Earning my first $0.17 shows me it’s definitely possible. Who knows? But it's definitely worth trying.

I Have Proven My Inner Voice Wrong

There was a little skank inside of me that tells me that Medium is just a waste of time. Seeing my first $0.17 that I earned helps me crush my inner “Negative Nancy.”

You see, I always doubted myself. I dabbled at important tasks I should’ve taken seriously. Not this time. I want to show my inner critic that I can be consistent despite the challenges I’d be facing.

My First Earnings Add Fuel to My Fire

Currently, I’m pushing myself to stay on track of goals here on Medium. Yes, there are days when I just want to lie down in bed and chill. Yet, I still find time to write to keep my momentum going.

I let my excuses define my goals before. I won’t allow it to happen now. Not on my watch. I’m ready to challenge myself to write every day and connect with people with the same mindset.

What’s Next, Mari?

I can’t see myself stopping any time soon. I have lots of topics I want to write about. So, you’ll be seeing a lot from me on this platform.

Plus, I’m having so much fun writing every day. I find it therapeutic when I put together coherent ideas. Trust me, my mind can be pretty chaotic when I let it run wild.

Oh! What’s your goal for the month of July? My goal is to write at least 15 articles and connect with other writers on Medium. If you’re interested, send me a DM on Twitter, and let’s talk.

--

--

Mari Concepcion
ILLUMINATION

Direct Response Copywriter. Digital Marketing Geek. Mother of Two Fur-Babies. Proud Member of the LGBTQ+ Community 🏳️‍🌈