PARENTING

I Make My Atheist Children Say Grace At The Dinner Table

An atheist family recognising the benefits of some religious traditions

Delilah Brass
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2022

--

A few months ago my family started saying grace before every meal, it can go a little something like this “Thank you for this delicious meal before us”, or on other occasions, my son or daughter might recall something, in particular, they are grateful for, family, pets, school, etc. Me and my partner can also take the opportunity to share something we really appreciated.

These few words are often accompanied by a few seconds of blissful silence. Then the eating begins.

We’re completely non-religious

Sure, I have a religious parent but personally, I share no affiliation with any religion, including Christianity. I haven’t been in a church in years and even then it was only for a Christmas service. Neither I nor my partner has ever practiced saying grace at home with our own parents, nor have either of us been exposed to the act in any way.

So why are we doing it to our children?

You don’t have to be a vegan to eat more vegetables.

--

--

Delilah Brass
ILLUMINATION

“Those that fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” — Winston Churchill