I once was so happy, but now I’m not!

Friska Riani
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2024

“lemme tell you something…”

“Hello, it’s me…”

Life is pretty amazing. It never stops teaching us many things about being a good human being. Bitter and sweet are never separate, they’re just like perfect combinations to describe our life’s complexity.

I once was so happy, but now I’m not. Why? Because I feel so much joy right now and I live a joyful life and live my best life. Sounds impossible? But it’s a fact that you should swallow it.

I never felt this way before. I do really enjoy my life at this moment, even though life never tells you when a bad day will come, but my point of view on everything has totally changed.

We have our own power to take control of this life. But you need to give yourself time to study and learn about many things. What have I done to live a joyful life, then?

First, do some self-reflection.

Why does this thing look so important? We’re going to keep making the same mistakes if we don’t learn from the past. Self-reflection is not that easy when you do it for the first time, but this was my way to heal myself first.

I dig deeper into myself, my worst, my emotions, what my soul really needs, what kind of circle is really good for my well-being, and many other things.

It takes time, it doesn’t happen overnight. Every day, I learn to remind myself of what I need to do to create the best quality of my life. Because life starts from within, not the cover that everyone can see.

Don’t rush.

I was so impatient for everything in life. I was being a god for myself. Everything should happen based on my timeline. What happened? Everything was so messy.

Slowly, I learned from that and how I can make a friend with myself first, make her calm, and don’t live in a rush.

Until I’ve come to the conclusion that this life deserves to be cherished, I’ve learned to slow down so I can find deep meaning in everything I do.

Totally let go of everything that should be taken away from your life.

I love this point a lot! Why? Because when I totally let go of everything that had taken away from my life, I actually learned a lot and reconnected with my true self.

Letting go taught me how to be unstoppable.

Letting go taught me how to understand life more deeply.

Letting go taught me how to humble myself, even when my ego screamed.

Have a deep relationship with God above.

FYI, I’m Christian, and you’ll know that my God is Jesus Christ. Now, I don’t see Jesus as a God who should prove His promise to me. When I knew He was my God and He was higher than me, my prayer changed.

Because when He knows me better than myself, why do I have to worry about a single thing in my life? When He takes care of my life, why am I sad?

I didn’t say that I’m spiritual enough. But if your intimate relationship with God is just a few years old and you love doing religious rituals, you need to ask yourself, Is your heart okay?

Last but not least, kiss your life with so much love. HAHA! I mean, try to see your life through many lenses and just be thankful for that.

Sometimes, you don’t hate your job, your place, or whatever you name it, but you hate yourself and your life. Ups! But that’s a fact! I hated my life before, I was blaming my position, even the place where I lived. But I realized that it was me who hated myself and my life a lot, and I didn’t like my old self.

But now, this is me, the new version of me that has been through a lot of things: making a lot of mess, blaming myself, being insecure, getting too emotional, etc. Bye to this creepy version of me!

Have a good day, peeps!!!!

--

--