I Owe It To Myself

Senetta Diane
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readSep 7, 2023

--

Pexel Image by Nina Uhlikova

In the depth of life, a thread I weave, A vow to self, I solemnly believe, A debt I owe, to the one I know best, I owe it to myself, to be truly blessed. Each day is new, and I try not to be blue.

Through the labyrinth of time, I’ve roamed, In search of meaning, in moments I’ve known, But in the pursuit of others’ dreams, I forgot my own, or so it seems. With eyes open wide I look in the sky.

Now, I stand at the crossroads of fate, Realizing it’s time to recreate, The narrative of my existence, my own tale, To break free from this self-made jail. Embracing what I see to get what I need.

I owe it to myself, to chase my desires, To set my soul’s deepest passions on fire, To nurture the dreams that I’ve buried inside, To let them flourish, to let them ride. To deny what won’t satisfy.

In the quiet hours of solitude’s embrace, I rediscover my true, authentic space, A canvas blank, waiting for strokes of art, To paint a masterpiece, a fresh start. To embark on the unknown and take what I now own.

--

--

Senetta Diane
ILLUMINATION

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul