I Proposed To My Girlfriend After 3 Months of Dating

When in doubt, take a leap of faith for your dream life

Buse Umur
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nancy Nguyen on Unsplash

We tend to think relationships are one way that works for everyone. You meet someone in person and date for a couple of years. Only then you can be sure of them.

People say that it takes years to know your partner. But sometimes all it takes is two weeks and a special moment you share in bed after spooning a peanut butter jar.

It was then I knew she was the one for me. Two weeks after we met in person, I found myself looking into her eyes and asking, “Not right now, not today. But one day will you marry me?”

I didn’t understand what happened in that moment. I forgot the world swirling around us, ignored the sun lighting our faces, and muted the traffic noise interrupting our playlist. The ordinary world faded away.

It was just the two of us trying to memorize every detail of each other’s faces in case something kept us apart.

At that moment, my logic battled with my emotions. A voice inside my brain said: “You met her two weeks ago! You’re being impulsive and stupid. You can’t propose to someone you don’t even know!”

But she was intoxicating. The potion she injected into my bones felt magical enough to numb the…

--

--

Buse Umur
ILLUMINATION

all that jazz about marketing, branding, and copywriting