I Quit Vocal Media Today

I’m done with the platform.

Abhi Thakur
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Photo by Devin Avery on Unsplash

I joined Vocal Media on April 16, 2021.

Ten months later, I’m finally moving on and decided to quit Vocal Media for good.

I’m done with it now. I can no longer publish articles on a platform that doesn’t care about its writers.

To be honest, I only published ten articles on Vocal Media, out of which eight were published last year. Surprisingly, the max reads I received on one post was five (that too ten months ago).

Screenshot from the Author

It’s still the same. All articles were republished that I wrote here on Medium.

I thought Vocal Media can be a good chance to reach more audiences. But I was wrong. After publishing eight articles last year, I totally forgot about Vocal Media. Though I was keeping an eye on it, I wasn’t publishing anything on it. Nor did I publish anything on Medium.

In mid-January, I started publishing articles on Medium on a regular basis as I was done with my ignorance to write. So I thought of republishing again on Vocal Media.

When I logged into my account, I saw one error on my account. They were unable to connect to my Stripe account at the moment.

Screenshot from the Author

So I send them a mail on the issue to which they responded saying they have escalated the matter to their team. I waited and waited but no response from their side came back again.

I send them the mail account to recheck my account for the issue to which they again said they are reviewing the matter.

During this time, I submitted two articles to them at once which they took three days to approve. But my issue was still not resolved.

After everything, I decided to quit Vocal Media for good. There was no point in wasting my time on this platform when I can do better on Medium.

Today, I quit Vocal Media. I don’t know whether you can delete your account or not but if you do, please tell me so I can remove it. I don’t want to keep my account active on the platform I don’t intend to use anymore.

My experience wasn’t that good with the platform but again maybe I didn’t spend much time with it. Tell me about your experience if you have ever used Vocal Media. I would love to hear it.

Join my email list here: https://abhithakur.ck.page/67f8aa0e98

--

--