I Reminded Myself

Driven by passion, guided by purpose.

Ranjeetsingharkvanshi
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 21, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

We all set goals in our lives at some point. At that time, our energy levels are on the next level. We become very confident in achieving that goal, sometimes even telling our friends about it.

In our initial phase, we work very hard with full determination and 100 percent dedication. We don't skip a day. However, as we gather new information, we start to doubt ourselves. We wonder, 'Should I do this or not? Is it really possible?' This loss of motivation causes us to forget about our goal, and this is what happened to me.

In 2021, I decided to become an athlete because I love athletic activities like running and jumping, which I enjoyed in school just for fun. In 2021, I finally committed to being an athlete and chose the sport I wanted to pursue. I made this decision because my parents urged me to choose a career path or start preparing for a government job.

I personally dislike jobs due to past experiences. That's why I chose to become an athlete. At that time, I promised myself that one day I would perform at a higher level. I was fully focused with a clear goal and no doubts in my mind. I worked with dedication daily. You won’t believe it, but in 2021, I didn't miss a practice day, except when my body was fatigued.

I didn't attend any festivals that year; they seemed like distractions, and I didn't want any at that time. Throughout the year, I worked very hard, and my game improved significantly. I was very happy. However, when I participated in a competition, I performed at only 10% of my usual level. I was upset because I didn't see results after a year of dedication and sacrifices.

Despite this setback, I didn't give up. I motivated myself and resumed my efforts. In 2022, I came across advice on social media to not push oneself too hard and to take breaks, believing that things will come at the right time. So, I took a one-week break. When I returned, I found that my performance had worsened because I hadn't engaged in any physical activities during that week. I realized my mistake and started working again, but this time without pushing myself too hard. I practiced for two days and took one day off each week for a year. In competitions, I improved from 10% to 50%, but it wasn't enough to win.

I haven't given up until now, but due to a family issue, we needed more money for our livelihood, so I started working. I worked for almost 6-7 months, during which I didn't practice much except on holidays. This meant I wasted 6-7 months, leaving only 4-5 months for full effort that year. Despite this, I put in my full effort again, but predictably, I didn't succeed in competitions due to lack of practice.

In 2024, people started judging me for my age and said that my time had passed. They suggested I not waste any more time in this field and work on something else. I began to doubt myself and decided to quit, focusing on something else.

In the third month of 2024, my old friends met me. They asked about the goal I had told them about in 2021, and I replied, 'Um, I quit.' They were angry and said, 'Are you mad, bro? Where is the old you who never surrenders, who works hard with full dedication? Remember your hunger for your goal and the sacrifices you made. Don't forget anything and don't listen to anyone until you achieve it.'

Their words motivated me again for my goal. I found myself in a situation where the universe seemed to be telling me to go and work on my goal without stopping for anything or anyone until I achieve it. I decided to leave everything else aside and focus solely on my goal. I reminded myself of the promises I made to myself. I vowed to achieve that goal at any cost and not listen to anyone else.

Right now, I'm doing a part-time job for my family and working on my goal. I will not stop until I achieve it. If you also have such a goal, don't overthink it. Stop doubting yourself and remind yourself about that goal. Believe me, after working on your goal, the happiness you'll feel will be priceless."

Thank you for reading this article

--

--

Ranjeetsingharkvanshi
ILLUMINATION

Hey there! I'm ranjeet a writer fueled by curiosity and a passion for storytelling. Here on Medium, I explore topics like- self improvement , inspiring stories