I said…

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2021
Photo by Engin Akyurt on Unsplash

I wish it never came to this,
but, then you made it.
I know I should have walked away,
but, I debated.
Could I express myself?
Just tell you how I felt?
You stooped low, well my turn
to hit below the belt-

I said fuck you, you deserved it.
Your expression was priceless.
I said fuck you, and I earned it.
Your shock was my catharsis.
I said it once, I’ll say it twice,
it doesn’t pay to play nice.
I said fuck you, you deserved it.

First time that I have ever said
such foreign language.
Thank you for bringing out the new
me, now you’re vanquished.
From now on, I’m thinking,
this arsenal’s to stay.
Get in my face again,
there’s hell to pay-

I said fuck you, you deserved it.
Your expression was priceless.
I said fuck you, and I earned it.
Your shock was my catharsis.
I said it once, I’ll say it twice,
it doesn’t pay to play nice.
I said fuck you, you deserved it.

No way will I apologize
for choosing to go speak my mind.
That’s what you get for picking fights.
I’m not proud that I said it.
But I really, really don’t regret it.

I said fuck you, you deserved it.
Your expression was priceless.
I said fuck you, and I earned it.
Your shock was my catharsis.
I said it once, I’ll say it twice,
it doesn’t pay to play nice.
I said fuck you, you deserved it.
You deserved it.

--

--

Zachary Kerman
ILLUMINATION

27. Instagram: @zachkerman “You've gotta be original, because if you're like someone else, what do they need you for?”