Why I Started My Own YouTube Series

How to Understand the Zeitgeist of Our Times

Fahri Karakas
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Photo by Nomadic Julien on Unsplash

Zeitgeist is the defining spirit or mood of a particular period of history.

Think about it: What does the Zeitgeist of our times tell us? For example, after 20 years, how will we remember January 2021 or February 2021?

To answer this question, I have decided to create a new YouTube Series. The first episode is titled “Zeitgeist Ocak 2021” (Zeitgeist January 2021).

The series is in Turkish since I feel more comfortable expressing myself in Turkish.

We will continue doing this series every month. Just after the month is finished, I review the political, cultural, technological, and economic events that occurred in the world during that month. I offer my interpretations, along with news articles, videos, Internet memes, and Twitter snapshots.

For example, in the January 2021 edition, we have discussed the Capitol riots, the start of the Biden era, the inauguration, the pandemic, the lockdowns, and the vaccination efforts.

In addition, we have looked at the biggest recent global movements in history, including #MeToo, #Blacklivesmatter, #OccupyWallStreet, and #ExtinctionRebellion.

--

--

Fahri Karakas
ILLUMINATION

Associate Professor in Business & Leadership at University of East Anglia. Passionate about doodling, imagination, and creativity. Author of Self-Making Studio.