I still miss my two friends and wish I could find them again.

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 8, 2023

I had two close friends in my school days namely Adiya and Sheena who are like the ideal movie friends — always supportive and there for you in good times and bad. Each of us has our own unique personality. I am a mix of bubbly and confused, Adiya is the funny one with a sassy sense of humor, and Sheena is our brainy friend who can solve any problem.

I was struck by how we all had such different personalities and yet became great friends. On my first day of school, I was extremely nervous and didn’t feel like talking to anyone. However, these two girls came up to me and offered to have lunch together. Adiya was always a social butterfly and had many friends, while Sheena was known for her intelligence and had many followers. I couldn’t help but wonder why they had chosen me, and whether they had any ulterior motives. Despite my doubts, I decided to join them, and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made.

During my studies, I didn’t excel academically and wasn’t involved in extracurricular activities. However, I realized that my friendship with two others was without any restrictions or obligations. Despite having nothing in common, we enjoyed each other’s company and shared laughter through our jokes. Our friendship was based on being carefree, enjoying each other’s company like a pleasant ride. We always included each other in our activities, and if one of us was unwell, we didn’t make any social plans. That’s how strong our bond was.

The best thing was each of us never felt jealous of the other’s success, rather we used to feel very happy and proud. Like this, we finished our school time of two years and now it was time for us to bid adieu to each other on the day of farewell. We just didn’t want to part away from each other.

More than anyone, I thought about with whom will I discuss my girlie talks with now. So many turmoils were going on in my mind. I felt like an empty void. Though we three decided to keep in touch.

Although it has been over 20 years since we went our separate ways, my friends and I still make a point to meet and catch up. Our social gatherings have become more virtual nowadays, but when we see each other’s faces, we revert back to our teenage selves. All three of us are now married with children and busy jobs to balance.

We stay in different cities, thankfully in the same country, so at least once a year we have our physical meetups without husbands and kids. The meetup is lighthearted as we act like three schoolgirls who believe the world only exists for our friendship.

But then I wish all this was true in my life. I wish I had made such good friends. Yes, I had Adiya and Sheena in my life but we could never keep the promise of keeping in touch with each other after school.

I have forgotten to keep in touch with them. With social advent like Instagram and Facebook, it is not difficult to find them. I have made numerous attempts to locate them on various social media platforms such as Twitter and LinkedIn, but unfortunately, my efforts have been unsuccessful.

I have made many friends in due course of time in my school, college, my workplace but not like the bond which I shared with Adiya and Sheena.

The article may be a bit delayed, but I still want to wish everyone a Happy Friendship Day! Remember to stay in touch with your friends, whether they’re named Adiya or Sheena, or anyone else in your life.

--

--

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION

Hello!!I am Sudeshna Karkun.I am an avid traveler, an enthusiastic blogger. I love to play with my dog and run in my free time .