I Stopped Eating Sugar For 100 Days, This Is How I Felt

Are you tired of feeling bloated and sluggish all the time? Do you feel like you’re constantly reaching for sugary snacks and drinks? If so, it might be time to consider cutting out sugar from your diet.

Akshay Yadav
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

I decided to take on the challenge and stop eating sugar for 100 days, and the results were truly amazing.

Before moving on, I want to clear that leaving sugar completely is not what a doctor will suggest and also not a good idea. So I want you to take that decision wisely and according to your lifestyle.

I had always been a bit of a sugar addict, and I knew it was time to make a change. I had heard about the benefits of quitting sugar, but I never thought it would make such a big difference in my life.

The first few days were tough, as I battled intense cravings and withdrawal symptoms.

I found myself reaching for sugary treats without even realizing it, and I had to constantly remind myself why I was doing this.

But I was determined to stick with it, and after a week or so, I started to notice some positive changes.

My energy levels increased, and I no longer felt that mid-afternoon slump. I was able to power through the workday without feeling exhausted, and I found myself getting more done in less time.

I also found that I was sleeping better and waking up feeling more refreshed. I had always struggled with insomnia, but cutting out sugar seemed to make a huge difference.

But the benefits didn’t stop there. After a month of no sugar, I noticed that my skin was clearer and brighter.

I had struggled with acne for years, but cutting out sugar seemed to make a huge difference. I also lost a few pounds without even trying, which was a nice bonus.

One of the biggest benefits of quitting sugar was the mental clarity I experienced. I felt more focused and productive throughout the day, and my mood was more stable.

I had always struggled with anxiety and depression, but cutting out sugar seemed to help regulate my mood.

I also felt a sense of empowerment, knowing that I was able to resist temptation and break free from my sugar addiction.

So how did I do it?

Here are some tips for cutting out sugar and dealing with sugar cravings:

Start small. Don’t try to cut out all sugar at once, but rather gradually reduce your intake.

Replace sugary treats with healthier alternatives. Try snacking on fruit or nuts instead of candy or cookies.

Drink plenty of water throughout the day. Sometimes we mistake thirst for hunger, so staying hydrated can help reduce cravings.

Get enough sleep. When we’re tired, we’re more likely to give in to cravings.

Stay busy. Boredom can often lead to mindless snacking, so find other activities to keep yourself occupied.

Cutting out sugar was one of the best decisions I’ve made for my health and wellbeing. The benefits were numerous and I felt amazing. If you’re considering giving up sugar, I encourage you to give it a try. Start small, be kind to yourself, and enjoy the many benefits of a sugar-free lifestyle.

--

--