I Stopped Trying to Quit Coffee. Here’s What Happened.

What no one talks about.

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

--

A cup of coffee floating on an airborne island.
Image generated by the author (using midjourney.com)

Caffeine is one of the most addictive drugs on Earth.

Mainly, because most people don’t think of it as a drug — we supercharge our brains with sugar-free energy drinks, shovel white powders in our mouths before workouts, and chug lattes to get back to a baseline of functionality.

These are seen as healthy habits.

And, as much as I’d love to sit here and write about finally kicking my coffee habit, it’s simply not true.

Here’s how I’ve become wary of my coffee intake. And, why I haven’t quit…

Everyone gets the half-life wrong.

If you’ve ever tried to kick your coffee habit, it’s likely for 1 of these 3 reasons:

  • Sleep
  • Anxiety
  • Digestive issues

In life, what goes up must come down, and many of the positive benefits of coffee, come with equally-weighted detriments. Personally, I was unknowingly addicted to caffeine for the majority of my life.

Unable to sleep at night, I’d rely on energy drinks and coffee to make it through the day, only to be met with a brick wall of insomnia when I laid my…

--

--

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

I write about all sorts of things. I hope you fall in love with my words. 🙋‍♂️🪴 Watch me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@hudsonrenniewrites