I Supported Haley. Now I’m Being Bombarded by MAGA Spam.

The pitfalls of supporting any candidate in the money-driven American political system

DC Palter
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Janine Robinson on Unsplash

I never write about politics. It would accomplish little other than to piss off half my readers. This article is not about politics. I promise.

While I have strong opinions, they don’t fit neatly into American left-right dichotomy. That said, I abhor Trump. I abhor him for all the reasons that people abhor Trump. No need to enumerate them here.

Whether you love Trump or hate him, I won’t change your mind, so I won’t try. That’s not what this article is about. I’m no fan of old Joe, either, though that’s neither here nor there.

Because I abhor Trump, I decided to support Nikki Haley, hoping against hope she might beat him in the primary and bring sanity back to political discussion. I knew it was a longshot, but I wasn’t making a huge commitment.

All I did was break my independence and register as a Republican so I could vote in the primary for Haley against Trump. But I made what turned out to be a huge mistake — I donated $100 to help her stay in the race.

Immediately, I received a text message from dear Nikki thanking me for my support. And an email. And more text messages…

--

--

DC Palter
ILLUMINATION

Entrepreneur, angel investor, startup mentor, sake snob. Author of the Silicon Valley mystery To Kill a Unicorn: https://amzn.to/3sD2SGH