I tape pieces of paper with compliments to myself because I deserve it: So do you.

Ilknur Eren
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 15, 2021
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My priority this year is happiness and finding self-love. In the past, I’ve run away from my emotions and locked them up in a vault inside my brain. This year, I’m running toward them, trying to figure out where my negative thoughts are growing and most importantly, how I can turn them around.

I’ve been getting help from a coach on Ginger, which is on-demand mental health support. At least twice a week, I talk to my Ginger coach and we create goals for myself and talk about how I can get better.

One of the activities that my coach made me do early on was to write down three things I like about myself on a post-it note or a small piece of paper. Next, my coach advised me to tape the notes separately in places where it would not be obvious, but places I will look every once in a while. The idea was that I will often see the nice notes I wrote to myself. I would run into my notes and it should be a pleasant surprise. But the notes should be hidden so when I do see them, I would read them.

At first, this seems kind of silly to me but I didn’t have anything to lose, so I gave it a go.

The first thing I wrote on a piece of paper was: I am honest.

Honestly is something I pride myself on. I live with values I believe in. I think it’s important, to be honest with everyone around you. I often think that the most important thing a person needs to do is to keep their word, if they don’t have that then they don’t have anything.

I taped this first note inside the bookmark I use when I’m reading. Whenever I open my book, I want to have this positive reminder.

The second note I wrote to myself was: I will go out of my way to help my friends and family.

I like the quality of loyalty. I think this is a nice value to have. We are all people, trying to figure things out. It’s important to help friends and family in need.

I taped this note inside the cover of the journal where I write down my thoughts. I always have a small journal with me where I write down my thoughts and feelings. I knew I would open this notebook.

Third and final note I wrote to myself was: I have a great work ethic.

I love to work and I think I have a great work ethic. I enjoy working, it makes me happy. I love to be around people who are passionate about their work or interests.

This note, I taped it in front of my drawer next to my bed. It was hidden where I would only see it when I lay down in bed. It was a nice note to read as I was laying in bed.

I wrote the notes and taped them. After a few days when I opened my book when I wanted to read, I saw in my handwriting a note, “I am honest” and I smiled. Later on, when I went to write in my journal, as I flipped to open my notebook, I saw the note, “I will go out of my way to help my friends and family” and I remembered this positive quality in myself. Sometimes, when I lay down and can’t sleep, as I look around the room, sometimes my eyes find the note where I wrote, “I have great work ethic” and I get excited for the next day.

I found this activity to be surprisingly helpful. I often forget the three notes I wrote to myself and it’s always nice to run into them when I start to read my book or write in my journal or when I lay in bed and I remember to look. I find my mood perk up when I read these notes, I find them when I am not feeling bad and it boosts my mood up.

Now, go out there. Write notes to yourself and your loved ones.

--

--