I Thank my Professor for all the work she put me through

What was once a burden can become a boon in the future

Teja Seelam
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 25, 2023

--

Image by the Author

If you’re in college, there may be a teacher or someone that assigns work for you frequently. You may get frustrated with that burden, but it can turn into a boon down the line. Because it did for me.

How did it work for me?

When I was in University, there was a professor looking for someone to make a poster design for our college event. She approached a friend of mine, and my friend suggested her to contact me. I know photoshop very little back then. As little as just cutting an object from one image and pasting it into another, adding text and etc.

When she contacted me to make a poster I seriously wanted to say NO to her. But I was afraid that she may cut corners in my internal marks. So that created a necessity for me to learn the basics of photoshop so that I can make a decent-looking poster.

She gave me a reference layout the next day and some information to put in the poster, all I need to do is to get them together. So I started making the layout with the little photoshop I know, and the rest of the poster is made by searching for tutorials on the internet and learning during the process.

At last, the poster was completed and she liked it very much. She called and appreciated me for that. I felt very happy at that moment because she liked my work and you know… she may give me better marks in the internals ;)

After a few days, she called me again and told me to make another poster; I did. She continued to give me these works for any event that happens at the University. I was infuriated and wanted to say NO every time she assigns some work. But you know… I was afraid. So I made those posters every single time she asked me to. I used to send her multiple drafts, she used to tell me multiple corrections to make to those drafts. I did this for a whole 4 semesters.

But now when I look back and recapture the things that happened, All that work she put through has worked really well in my favor. I Am now so much better at Photoshop than I was before she approached me. And this is not some random skill that I learned, it is an essential tool for my career (Content creation) going forward.

And I just want to say, “Thank you, Mam”.

If you liked what you read, please consider giving this a 👏 and a follow. See you in the next one, Bye👋.

--

--

Teja Seelam
ILLUMINATION

I like computers and tech. So I write about them on Medium and makes videos on Youtube. Weekly productive newsletter: https://tejslm.beehiiv.com