I Told Myself I Would Never Teach Again. But I Went Back. Here’s Why It Happened and What I Learned.

Why taking a step back is often the best way forward.

Irene Chu
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

In 2022, I wrote an article about why I quit teaching after 2.5 years.

But… I ended up going back in March 2023. Even though I told the whole world I’d quit.

Here’s why it happened and what I learned.

(This article took me months to write because I couldn’t find the words to express how I felt. How lost I felt. How guilty and ashamed I felt for “taking steps backwards.” I’m glad I finished it — and this chapter of my life.)

Why did I go back?

1. We’re drawn to what’s familiar.

A huge bulk of my professional experience after university is teaching.

In total, I’ve taught for three years. So I know how to teach English to kindergarteners. I have classroom management techniques. I have the lesson plans, props, activities, and crafts.

So going back to teaching seemed like the right decision to make.

Because here’s the thing.

Humans seek environments and situations we’ve experienced before. We feel they’re…

--

--

Irene Chu
ILLUMINATION

I ghostwrite newsletters for female holistic health coaches. | My newsletter: https://irenechu.substack.com/