I took a break from Medium for 17 months, and my platform continued growing

Social media platforms like TikTok and Instagram continued to attract readers to my Medium profile while I lived my life.

Andrea Duran
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo Credit: Photo of author by photographer Stacy Soriano

Before reading, please forgive any grammatical mistakes or misplacements. It has also been 17 months since I last wrote anything (since 2022!).

Addiction to Medium, TikTok, and Instagram

My absence from Medium was not planned. I absolutely love reading and writing. Medium motivated me to write consistently and post consistently on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok. I was trying to grow my visibility so that I would have an easier time possibly finding a literary agent for a young adult fiction book I was working on (subtle plug here) back in 2022.

Never in my wildest dreams could I have predicted that I would become drastically obsessed with each and every mundane detail of my posts. It was turning into a poisonous addiction.

I spent several hours a night chewing my nails down to uneven, bloodied crisps while I obsessively wrote and rewrote 10 different drafts of the same article. When the article was perfected enough (or I was finally exhausted enough), I would…

--

--

Andrea Duran
ILLUMINATION

Writer | Self-Development | Mental Health | Addiction | Fiction | B.A. Eng/Pysch | Addiction Counselor | Certified Hot Mess | https://linktr.ee/dreabookjunkie