I Tried a Biphasic Sleep Cycle for a Week

And I’ve never felt more awake or been more productive.

Christine Tu
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

Usually, my sleep routine looks like this: watch a lot of Youtube or a movie before bed, lay in bed staring at my phone for a while, and fall asleep at quite a late hour. Then, I sleep, sleep, and sleep until I need to wake up (or on the weekends, I stay in bed as long as I possibly can).

In the mornings, I’m pretty tired. I drink a cup of coffee, but it only really makes me feel awake for an hour or so before I start to feel drowsy again.

The most annoying part of my day used to be after lunch. After I finish my lunch, regardless of what I ate or how much I ate, I feel so drowsy I almost fall asleep. This is usually the most unproductive part of my day, the part when I’m on my computer mindlessly playing Buzzfeed quizzes and watching random Youtube videos that I’ve probably already watched before.

It was then that I stumbled across the Biphasic Sleep Cycle, which changed everything.

What is a biphasic sleep cycle?

A biphasic sleep cycle is a sleep pattern where you sleep twice a day. For example, this could mean taking an afternoon nap for a couple of hours and sleeping 4–5 hours at night. On the same tangent, monophasic sleeping is…

--

--