I Tried Hanging Every Day for 30 Days. Here’s What Happened.

Everything is connected

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

--

A man hanging from a pull-up bar.
Image generated by the author (using midjourney.com)

[The year was 2008].

It was fitness testing, in high school.

“Ok, Hudson, you’re up.”

I walked up to the bar, heart pounding. I thought to myself, ‘Let me get just one’. I pulled with all my might but my arms wouldn’t move past parallel.

My P.E. teacher called out,

“Zero! Next…”

My friends laughed. I laughed too, but my flushed face told the real story. I walked back across the gymnasium.

Ashamed.

Grip strength saves lives.

I’ve always had very skinny wrists.

And, as a result, I’ve also had very weak forearms. As a pre-teen, I would pray to the heavens my twig arms would fill out into veiny, meaty forearms.

But, they never did.

Even after years of wrist curls, weight training, and hundreds of thousands of grams of protein, my forearms never seemed to grow. Eventually, I accepted it as poor genetics and decided to carry on with my life.

Until I heard a startling statistic.

--

--

Hudson Rennie
ILLUMINATION

I write about all sorts of things. I hope you fall in love with my words. 🙋‍♂️🪴 Watch me on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@hudsonrenniewrites