I Tried to Leave Medium and Then This Happened

While I was on a long break from Medium, my stats miraculously picked up

Jennifer Geer
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jenny Ueberberg on Unsplash

I’ve written a total of four stories this year on Medium. My last story was written in March, and it was actually a reprint of one I had previously published on NewBreak.

It’s not that I purposely left Medium, I just ran out of time to devote to it. Medium is such a fickle platform. There are no guarantees of making money, and I have been spending most of my time writing for websites where the payment is known and worth my time.

I still like it here despite the controversy of a new CEO and the latest Medium changes. I try to ignore whatever is going on at the top and just do my thing writing and reading stories from my favorite writers. But my stats were at abysmally low levels and it’s a lot less fun to write when what you’re putting out there gets seen by so few.

I was busy

So I found myself focusing on other projects, and staying away from Medium.

And then…even though I hadn’t written in months, the notifications started pouring in. An article I wrote in February 2023 was getting claps and comments.

--

--

Jennifer Geer
ILLUMINATION

Writer, blogger, mom, owner of pugs, wellness enthusiast, and true crime obsessed.