I Visited My Old Job; Here Are 5 Reasons Why Working For Someone Else Sucks

Surprise! Jobs aren’t ‘safe’ either.

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

I was a manager for the Food and Beverage Department of a major hotel brand and it was by far the most miserable job I’ve ever had. To put it into perspective, I’ve only ever worked for three different places in my life. And I complained about all of them, but that one destroyed me.

Misery loves company though, right? So, the bonds that I formed with my coworkers at the most miserable place to work are standing the test of time. It’s been three years since I was laid off when I was pregnant, mind you, and we still get together for dinners.

When I visit the few that remain, and it’s only a few, I’m even more appalled at the work conditions. If I thought it was bad when I was there, it’s atrocious now. The amount of rooms in the hotel hasn’t changed but the skeleton staff I thought we had has been diminished by 75%. I don’t know what the new owner's plan is but I don’t think that’s any way to run a business.

A hotel with no room service? The restaurant that’s not open for dinner or lunch, and only one manager runs it all. Banquets, the cafe, the restaurant, the bar, and the kitchen? If you have no experience in hotels you’re probably thinking, so what? But when I thought we had no…

--

--

Shea Hulse
ILLUMINATION

Wife and mom of two. My books are steamy paranormal romances full of magic and mystery. I help entrepreneurial women do the same. Traveller. Dreamer. Free.