I Want to Be Loved

Let the cupid’s arrow cross my heart once again

Parag Ingale
ILLUMINATION
2 min readAug 20, 2023

--

Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

Rain is splashing on the window pane. And so is my bittersweet memory of love, which is splashing into my brain. Sitting on my warm sofa and sipping hot coffee, I can see a couple of sparrows taking refuge under the roof of my balcony. Their feathers are soaked in rain, and they are trying to warm each other up. They are in love, I guess. They are kissing each other. Me and my girlfriend used to have our own beautiful affair in the rain when we were sailing our ship of love. We had no fear of getting caught or of societal prejudices. We were like uncaged lovebirds — reckless and romantic. Just she and me, and everything transcending into heaven. Gosh! Those were the days.

I wanted her to be the keeper of my love forever. But she had some other plans, and our ship sank. Unfathomed!

It was a cold and pasty night of winter when I broke up with my love four years ago. My dream of calling her my better half had come crashing down. The warmth of love in my heart was put out. It was as cold as the winter night, and my fingers were numb. I was sinking into the misery of desolation. I wanted to scream and cry, but my dead soul didn’t have any more strength. It felt like my life had turned upside down.

Cold love was the last thing I was looking for when I proposed to her. But that’s what I got. My relationship with her had become a big void, a blackhole sucking up every drop of love we had in our hearts. It had become a desert where no more love could bloom. A dried up river of intimacy!

It’s been four years since that intimate touch. Four years since a romantic adventure. For four years now, I have been in solitary confinement, devoid of love and life. There is uncontrollable chaos in the silence of my heart. It’s craves for love. It’s in the never-ending pursuit of unwavering affection. Pursuit of someone who will call me her soulmate. It’s hopeless romantic!

I want to be caressed and cared for. I want to find solace in her arms and peace in her kisses. She can tranquillize my anxious heart. I want to sing and dance with her all night, getting high on a glass of whisky or two. Once again, I want to indulge in unfaltering passion with her.

Let her be my diamond, because diamonds are forever. Let the cupids compose the symphony of love for us. Let their arrows cross our hearts. Let me be loved again!

--

--