I Want You to Stop Putting Yourself First

Mayss
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2024

“Love yourself the most”

“You should be your first priority”

“Others don’t deserve your kindness”

“Never put someone before you because there is no one who’ll do the same for you”

This is the crap that I see a lot on social media, and I want you to take all of these out of your mind, and get rid of this mentality forever.

I feel like it’s become a trend; to have a lot of people relate to such ideas, let them get trust issues, experience loneliness and isolation, and spread this mentality everywhere.

I don’t like to blame others for what happens, but I always considered social media some sort of a scam. I had been ignoring that feeling for a long period until it just got tiring. Draining.

If you ever felt free there, I promise you it’s not. If you ever thought that the most shared concepts are people’s, I promise you they’re not. The reality is that it’s controlled overload, and what spreads is what the persons behind want to spread. I, myself, could be writing at this moment about what they want some people to write about. It’s all about what we see, and what they produce for us to see.

Not yourself, but put your VALUES first. Be humane. Be kind. Be sympathetic. Have principles and stick to them. For the sake of staying humane, stop thinking that greed, selfishness, unconditional self-acceptance are all normal things, because they’re not. Don’t let what you see in this individualistic world convince you about dissociation being a way to success. Don’t let this unethical world transform you into a coldblooded being-monster- that doesn’t blink an eye to the pain of others. Instead, be helpful, kind and live without regrets.

Thanks for reading!

P.S: Don’t forget to pray for Palestine and its people.

--

--

Mayss
ILLUMINATION

Bursts of sudden ideas that is. I write about my thoughts, maybe yours too! ;)