I was diagnosed with ADHD… Part I

Dem'preneur
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Photo by Tara Winstead: https://www.pexels.com/photo/adhd-super-powers-written-on-chalkboard-8378741/

Growing up in Jamaica was difficult as a male when it comes on to dealing with mental health issues and expressing our emotions. Men were always expected to be macho and firm, and not too many people cared for the neurodiversities in us as citizens of the society.

This has resulted in so many social ills within our country, which I cannot begin to talk about just yet. I brought up this issue though, to say that I have always had challenges learning; yet no one knew. I could not sit still for a long period of time, I was very easily agitated growing up as a boy and even as an adult male, I have problems sleeping at night, thoughts bombarding my brain like people rioting for food, I internalize and overthink every situation, always a big procrastinator and much more. I saw these symptoms but have been ignoring them all my life until recently. They aren’t things I am proud of but I had little to no avenues to turn to, in order to get my challenges resolved so I found creative ways to deal with them (suck it up!).

With the struggles, I’ve managed to complete an Associates, Bachelors, Master and is halfway through another Masters degree. This felt good achieving but the studies drained me in so many ways.

My symptoms and weariness got worst since recently so I decided to visit my provider/doctor; told him what was happening and he told me…

--

--

Dem'preneur
ILLUMINATION

Dem'preneur: E-commerce & blogging hub by a vibrant ADHD Jamaican male. Weaving creativity & hustle into every project. Join our journey to success!