Anandita
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readMar 17, 2024

--

I was simply incapable of tolerating my own heart.

Photo by Marah Bashir on Unsplash

It's high time you move on" His usual firm voice was shaking. His words were strong though. "You can't live your life like this"

Nothing that he said was new to me. I had enough discussions about this with people around me. Same advices. Yet, when it came from him, it broke me in pieces.

"How do I leave my life, to live my life", I questioned. Just like always, he looked at me with those big beautiful brown eyes, almost shaking his head in what looked like utter disappointment and frustration.

For all those years that we spent together, he protected my heart. He tolerated it; because I was simply incapable of tolerating my own heart.

He knew this, and weirdly he was protecting me and my heart yet again, from what we call the - pain of destiny and time mixed, in the most inappropriate proportion.

I told him, you were my life. And he answered something. The sound of that 'something' still aches my heart.

| "But life is far away from fair" 💔

--

--