I wish I were more like my grandfather

Katarina Zunic
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readJun 24, 2020

A poem

Photo by Zahra Amiri on Unsplash

I wish I were more like my grandfather

So I could see only the poor people on the news

who experienced trauma,

were dealt a poor hand in life.

If I were more like my grandfather

I would not focus on the big bad wolves of the Earth

I would let my compassion grow

and my anger would subdue.

Tell me,

does old age come with wisdom only

or with naivete too?

I wish I were more like my grandfather

who helps nature grow

and asks little of it for himself.

If I were more like my grandfather

I would praise hard work

but would be aware of God’s mercy too.

Tell me,

does old age come with wisdom only

or with innocence too?

--

--

Katarina Zunic
ILLUMINATION

The mind is dressed in knowledge. Critical thinking and introspectiveness keep it stylish.