Ice Cream Date

Wholesome stories every Friday

Zcynel Nathan Ferido
ILLUMINATION
1 min readJul 17, 2020

--

Photo by Matt W Newman on Unsplash

We entered Mr. Dada’s Ice Cream Palace. A 5-foot cardboard sign greeted us: MINT CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM DAY (unlimited mint chocolate for 24 hours!). I asked for two servings of cookies and cream. The uniformed midget behind the counter said they ran out. I asked for plain vanilla. No luck. Every other flavor besides mint chocolate was unavailable.

“I’m sorry,” said Patricia.

“It’s okay,” I said.

“I didn’t know.”

“You couldn’t know.”

“But,” she sighed. “But we traveled so far.”

Underneath the cheap plastic table, our knees touched. I caressed her silk hands and slowly carried them to my lips. Her cheeks turned red.

I nibbled on the chocolate chips sprinkled atop the blue-green body of the dessert. I scooped a sliver of ice cream, slid it to my tongue as I held back a surfacing cringe. Patricia pouted and stared like my Husky, Mr. Miles, after molesting the couch. “It’s okay,” I said. “I love you.”

We laughed, flirted, stared longingly, while our 500-peso ice cream quietly melted into oblivion.

Thank you for your time, beautiful reader. Follow me for more short fiction.

--

--

Zcynel Nathan Ferido
ILLUMINATION

I tell stories that inspire. Creative non-fiction. Fiction. Essays.