If a man must do it all in marriage, what does the woman do?

Can we agree that if there exists a man-child, there must be a woman-child?

Laurianne
ILLUMINATION
3 min readSep 21, 2023

--

Photo by mkjr_ on Unsplash

Women have been looked down upon for ages and I’m happy things are now looking up for us. I’m happy women are being heard. But I feel that now we are overstepping the boundaries.

(I understand that some women work as well and support their families, but here I’m focusing on those that are housewives.)

I see videos of stay at home married women explain how their husband go to work to make money for all the family then come home to cook, take out the trash, help change nappies… And now I wonder what do the wives do all day?

If a good man must work for money, cook, help clean, change diapers, pick up after himself, iron his own clothes… What is left for the wife to do? Breastfeed only I suppose? And show up in the bedroom or be treated like a queen I guess?

I just want to know the job description of a married woman that stays home all day, that depends on her husband financially, whose husband cooks and cleans after work. What does she do all day when the man is at work? If he will return home and find no cooked meal and a clean place to live in?

I’m not sure if I’m missing something.

Photo by Timothy L Brock on Unsplash

We are portraying marriage as a place where women must become more glorified than they should be. Telling everyone what to do and showing their husbands as the followers of their wives orders.

If we stood against women’s maltreatment in marriage, we need to stand against men’s maltreatment in marriage in the disguise of trying to treat women well in marriage.

Women can not be home all day and expect their husbands to return from work and cook for them, help clean the house and take out trash and all you do is rate how good the man is. No.

I’m tired of hearing that he came back and did not do this or did not do that! He is a man-child. What about us that are now women-children also.

Yes, women must be treated with compassion and understanding but women themselves must not now take advantage of that to become little gods at home that do nothing but expect everything.

House chores can be a lot and so can office work. Everyone gets tired. Giving birth and looking after children is a hard job, I have a child I know. But that’s no license to wait for a man that went to work to come back and still cook for you that was home all day or for himself …

In our day, what a man must do has been listed clearly. Can we also start listing it in clear terms what women must do as married women?

When women get married, do we do the minimum research of knowing what husbands need? Not our children but our husbands? What do they need that we will do for them?

Since it has all turned into what husbands must do for their wives, what are we, the wives, supposed to do for our husbands in return if we take the children out of the equation?

All the time “He is a man-child.” What if we are the women-children, have you thought about it?

--

--

Laurianne
ILLUMINATION

With the hope of leaving the world better than I found it, I talk about divorce, equality, marriage, women related issues and anything that lingers on my mind.