If I am alive, I will be a burden

I have accepted it. So should you.

Shwetoski
ILLUMINATION
2 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Photo by Simon Wijers on Unsplash

Do you carry the guilt of your existence? The guilt of being human? The guilt of doing better than the others? At least in some aspects of life?

I carry that guilt on behalf of myself and of many like me.

The guilt of having a brain. A brain that is capable of creating all destructive forces, of over-utilizing the natural resources.

The guilt of being part of that human race that has divided itself by marking seen and unseen boundaries on the ground, under the colors of flags and skin, under the name of different scriptures, and the followers of those; who’d swear, curse, abuse, assault, and annihilate each other.

And those who assert their superiority, being born in a specific community. Being part of a mob gives a kind of comfort, which is a breeding ground for jingoism. The definitive journey.

There are others amongst us, on the receiving end. Marginalized. Sometimes I am part of that community. Sometimes I am not, which is more difficult.

But there is another predicament, that is accepting the fact that I will continue to be part of the system; of everything happening around me, good and bad.

Sometimes I help or try to help. But, the “me” factor is meaningless. I am aware that someone will have a different perception of my doing, and not doing something else. I will do my part of sharing the predicament.

So, I conclude. I have accepted the burden of my existence; so, should you. Because you are no different. And we all will wait for judgment day.

--

--

Shwetoski
ILLUMINATION

A Writer, Explorer. A photographer. Searching, Researching the aspects of life, death, and whatever exist beyond…