If it’s You

Gristy
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2023
Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

I hold dear,

all those trivial moments,

surrendering under the tide of emotions,

If it’s you,

I lost my mind,

swimming like a dolphin under your easy embrace,

those vultures,

pecking at firey words,

lit a flame inside my soul,

Unbeknowst to you,

I raged,

clawing at the edges,

tearing away at the products that once defined me,

If it’s You,

I held on to crisp hope,

suffocating under your silver tongue,

I’m not reading the book by the cover,

I’m reading a book I already read,

burned, and tossed the ashes into the woods,

I traveled the twisted lanes,

flipped to the end before it began,

if it’s you,

I wouldn’t reverse it,

My demons crawling like maggots under my skin,

I wouldn’t stop chasing you from the pitfalls of heaven,

to the top of those concrete stairs,

but I still hold dear,

all those trivial moments,

holding back my crystaline tears.

--

--