If Only I Could

A feeling so relevant and eternal

Awab Hussain
ILLUMINATION
2 min readOct 3, 2020

--

Photo by Tommy Lee Walker on Unsplash

If only I could carbon date my love for you,

I could show you that it exists beyond

the feeble attraction of atoms within my existence;

it stretches as far as the time could stretch,

watching our course of evolution,

like a keen mother;

(surely, it evolved with us too)

if only I could carbon date my love for you

I could show you that it's not I who created it,

But it, who fathomed us all

we are just fortunate beads in a vast string of legend

trying to make our version worth remembering.

Love honours those who could appreciate it,

jotting them down, wrapping them in leather

to be placed in an eternal library,

or composing them in sweet melodies

that could sway the course of time,

or flaunting them out in public theatres

an exaggeration of expression,

or in gentle whispers that make you hold,

a while longer;

its all love, honouring its decipherers;

if only I could carbon date my love for you

I could show you that it is every reason

you ever need to know;

facts may casually call it survival

but there’s always a reason to survive,

isn't there?

pure, honest, simple;

like a childhood friendship

caring and nurturing, like a mothers lap

intimate and private, like a soft kiss

old and familiar, like grandma’s scent

only one reason, my dear;

if only I could carbon date my love for you

I could show you that it's all yours

like the universe existed, just

to traject us towards each other

and now we have a chance to write our verse

and pass it on stronger, more evolved;

if only I could carbon date

I could show you that it's all,

what a writer like me ever lived for

trying to make us, worth remembering;

if only I could.

Photo by Ritika S on Unsplash

It's so mesmerizing, how you stumble upon someone and after a while, you feel a sudden rush, like the feelings are so eternal that it's beyond reason how someone you know for such a short time, could become the missing piece of your existence. I am starting to feel like we pass on our struggle and search as heritage and when we find someone like that, all the history starts burning up inside, completing so many lost stories. I think that is why we feel as if time stopped. This poem is inspired by a similar feeling. I hope you enjoy it.

--

--