If you haven’t read ‘Tuesdays with Morrie’, you must

Day #22: 100 Happy Days

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

--

Author’s own Image from the book “Tuesdays with Morrie”

This weekend was a quiet one, after many weekends. As I was glancing through the many titles in our family home’s library, I chanced upon Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom. It was an old copy, one that my husband read when he just started his high school. Of course, I had heard so much about it and I finally had this peaceful weekend to spend with it. And, every second with the book was worth it.

Tuesdays with Morrie is a book about life, and in fact, much more than that. It makes one feel more alive and happy. The pearls of wisdom pierce through one’s heart till they completely open it for love. The book shares an account of conversations between the author and his teacher, Morrie, who shares life lessons, aphorisms, and anecdotes. If I could, I would write the entire book down if I have to summarize what stayed with me the most: the act of forgiveness (not just to others but to ourselves), letting go and acceptance (of life and death and everything in between), family, and love. For now, I am documenting my top three favorites.

Love always wins.

Morrie shares about the “tension of opposites” and how life is a “series of back and forth”. How we want to do a thing, and are bound to do something else; or how we take things for…

--

--

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince