If You Talk to Me About Sexual Abuse One More Time I Swear I’m Gonna Hug You

Finally, my country is waking up. But more work is needed

Giorgos Pantsios
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

This story was supposed to be about the recent wave of #MeToo incidents in my country, Greece. But as I waited for it to grow, it became more than that.

It’s a story about you, people that got abused and didn't come to the light yet. And it’s about people that are getting abused right now but have a beacon of hope to guide them.

It’s a story about me, being sick about what I hear and read. And it’s a story for you, that feels the same way as well. We are people that can offer a digital hug, and listen to you. I can’t put myself in your position. Sorry if you feel that’s unfair. But I’m here to offer words of comfort and a self-esteem boost. Remember, the past can’t change. You can make your future better though. Focus on the present.

I was about to write something else in the beginning, but my father reminded me that there's a huge problem with society. He can’t understand why everyone comes out now, after so many years of covering the abuse they got.

So, I created a simple analogy for him. In a way that he would understand, I told him:

“Let’s assume that you are a slave. You keep your head down…

--

--

Giorgos Pantsios
ILLUMINATION

Top Writer | Fulltime learner | Polymath from Greece | Exploring life | Modern Philosopher | https://linktr.ee/giorgospantsios