If You Want More Engaged Readers Write Shorter Articles

My advice as a frequent reader on Medium.

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

--

Have you been looking at your stats and thought: Ugh, what the heck is this reading time?

Seriously, I have been there.

You wrote the perfect story, full of love and support for the readers, yet they paid you dust. You wrote them a detailed 6–10 minute article, however, they only read less than half.

You are left thinking: Well, shit. What happened?

Now, that is where I come in.

When I started writing on Medium, I was told that the most successful articles are those written between 5 and 7 minutes.

That is what you should strive for, they said.

There is a lot of advice out there; but how much of that should we take?

As a reader in Medium, I got to the bottom of the problem. Trust me, I had to wear my Scooby costume and sniff to the evidence.

Content and engagement

Once, I saw this beautiful story. It had an amazing title — a suck me like a melting ice cream headline, but it was 10 minutes long. Yes, 10 minutes.

--

--

AdventureRaf
ILLUMINATION

If you cannot find me, I am probably writing. Usually, I write about fiction, love, and self-improvement. Oh, love!