If You Want Results, Don’t Stick to Middle Management

Annelise Lords
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 3, 2023

--

When you want results, do what Megan said her mom told her to do, “don’t stick to middle management, go to the top.”

Image by Annelise Lords

Enjoying Susan Wheelock: Please Stop Expecting Me To Be Perfect frustration about the incompetent service she paid for and a similar incident pushed its way into my head.

Two weeks ago, we hired a firm to advocate for our daughter while she fights harassment at school. After we paid them and sent all of the requested information, we didn’t hear anything. Timelines are getting tight, so I emailed them this morning to find out what the deal is.

But, it’s easier to blame me than actually doing the job. Wait, did I miss something? Was it my job to tell them how to do their job?

I’m tired of waiting for people to simply do their job.

My country has serious customer service issues. Because of its size, poverty, and corruption, not much competition is there in business, so most Jamaicans don’t have a choice and often don’t get the best price in making certain purchases.

I took out a ten-year mortgage to purchase my house from a certain Building Society. After eight years of struggling to pay the mortgage my husband and I decided to pay off the balance.

--

--