If You Want to Live a Quieter Life, You Need to Know This…

Harby Mosquera
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2024

More and more, I realize that life is too unpredictable to predict how tomorrow morning will greet you. Sure, we can make an educated guess, but still, nothing is set in stone.

I say this because countless times I’ve found myself frustrated by plans I couldn’t fulfill due to life’s unpredictability. Maybe that’s precisely the issue.

It’s not the plans themselves, nor life itself. The problem lies in how we react — we get frustrated, angry, sad, and so on. In short, there are plenty of negative emotions that ruin our days.

Photo by Ravi Pinisetti on Unsplash

But here’s the key. I mean, why do we have to react in all those negative ways? Why is it so hard for us to accept things as they come?

Sometimes it’s simply not the right time for what we’re seeking to find us. Perhaps this is one of the hardest parts to accept: realizing that life doesn’t always have to be on our side.

Because when I say that, I’m not implying that it shouldn’t be absolutely so, but that it happens the way it’s meant to at that moment. That’s where our maturity as individuals makes the difference.

If instead of getting frustrated, angry, or sad, we were grateful for what happens to us, maybe (and I say maybe) the life we’d live would be much quieter. The people around us would be happier.

The world would be a better place.

Because yes, dear reader, giving thanks is the best thing we can do when everything seems to be against us. It’s not about thanking for what happens per se (although we could do that too), but for having the ability to accept things as they’ve unfolded.

The sense of liberation this simple gesture brings is incredible, which is why I try to apply it much more regularly in my daily life. My peace of mind since then is incomparable to previous years.

Now I feel like I live much more calmly and in harmony with myself and my loved ones. But not only that, the way things unfold in my life has changed drastically.

Everything seems to flow much more easily than before.

Some might think that by simply being grateful for the good and bad things that happen to us, life will be rosy. This has to do more with the feeling than the act itself.

If you truly feel gratitude, that tranquility we sometimes seek doesn’t take long to appear. Things start to flow much more smoothly, and we become increasingly wise and evolved individuals.

A better version of ourselves.

If you enjoyed the post, I’d really appreciate it if you could follow me or clap :)

--

--

Harby Mosquera
ILLUMINATION

✨ If you can write it, you can monetize it. Learn more here: https://bit.ly/3vH829u