NewsBreak Update

If You Want to Maximize Earnings on NewsBreak, Never Write Any Type of National Story No Matter How Unique Your Take Is

Even unique takes on national news stories with the local tag “Washington, D.C.” will not earn a score above 4.

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Robert Thivierge/flickr

A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” ~Thomas Mann.

I have been writing on Newsbreak since the beginning, and like many of you have had my ups and downs with the platform. Overall, I have appreciated the earnings opportunities which will continue through June as well as the chance to write news stories which aren’t particularly lucrative on other platforms including Medium. I was honored to have been one of the winners for their first writer’s contest and was thrilled with the monetary reward and swag they sent. In many cases, I have received excellent support when needed. In other cases, not so much.

Those writing on the platform since the inception of the Creator’s Program like I have, will have adapted to several changes to what type of content is rewarded and the monetization model for earnings. Under the current model, scores are assigned to each story. Stories receiving a score of 1–4 receive a lower base…

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
ILLUMINATION

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank