“If You’re a Bird. I’m a Bird.”

From Epiphany to Lent, we go from the brightness of our dawn to the darkness of our sin.

Sneh Gaurav
ILLUMINATION
5 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Photo by kevin laminto on Unsplash

While tidying up today, I stumbled upon an old notebook with a lot of loose pages wedged inside. There were myriad scribbled notes on most of them. As I flipped through them, I was taken aback by everything I had written down. It was like discovering a treasure trove of forgotten knowledge. I couldn’t believe I had forgotten about it all.

As I flipped through the pages, long-forgotten memories came flooding back, memories of the times when I was so engrossed in something.

This was one of a few I may post, even though I’m fairly certain I would’ve already done so. Otherwise, what did I write them for?

I smiled at the thought of how many years had passed since I wrote in them. All the experiences, the lessons, and the emotions that I wrote down so I wouldn’t forget. It was like uncovering the story of my life, and I was grateful to have this window into my past.

I couldn’t tell you when they were written, as they are not dated, nor would I have much luck looking for them in my account. I would not know where to start looking for them, as they would be buried in the sea. It’ll all come back to me if someone could just tell me how long ago it was.

I hope you like this.

Photo by Eirene Thoms on Unsplash

~Chimera.

I will dream of you tonight,

Laying on your star pillow as I sleep,

I will kiss the cold window at dawn,

and then comfort the castle you drew there with my warm breath.

Tomorrow, I will take your hand and together

We will walk through the rain.

I will think of flying

as we dream together…

we will stop by a well,

And there we will absorb love.

And in us, immortality will mourn

as it remembers the time before we were born.

I’ll dream of you another night,

on a jetty, at the edge of the world,

where the stars are bright

and the moon is full,

and the sea is calm, and the tide is high.

Below the whisper month,

we will give our love a name,

and celebrate our union,

with a romantic getaway.

Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

~ The juxtaposition of notebook and epiphany — A Haiku

Nostalgic midnight

For a little, old notebook

the epiphany.

Photo by Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

~I’m ready to be me again — A Sestet.

Is it worth living for the sake of shattered dreams?

Is it worth it to chase false promises?

If I were to ask you how happy we were that day, what would you think?

In the meantime, what has become of us now?

I was cremated on the night of grieving as I lay dying

It was only a matter of time before I found myself again

My heart is now telling me that I must follow it.

Photo by J on Unsplash

~Can I stop this moment?

It’s 3:47 am, and as I look at the moon, I wonder how poets are able to romanticize every pain they go through so easily when they’re experiencing something so visceral and real. But what’s worse than heartbreak?

Photo by DAVE NETTO on Unsplash

~ सुर्ख़

लफ्ज़ साथ दें आज, तो लिख दूंगी,

ना दें अगर, तो सीख लूंगी।

क्यूंकि इन शब्दों में जो है,

मैं वो हूँ ही नहीं।।

वो जो धूल छुपाये बैठी थी न तुम,

उन पन्नो में,

वहीं तो हूँ मैं,

उन मुरझाये फूलों में, उन कागज़ की कश्तियों में।

इस इश्क़ को रुखसत कैसे कर दूँ भला मैं?

ये अब तक नहीं सीख पाई,

जो इस दिल में, दिल के साथ धड़कती है,

उसे जुदा कैसे कर दूँ भला मैं?

तुम जिस राह से गुज़रती थी,

वो रह घर जैसी लगती थी।।

Photo by Christopher Jolly on Unsplash

~ The guy from the cafe. A piece of heart.

Him reading a book while having tea in the cafe as I stand outside the cafe admiring him from the glass window. His beautiful curls fell over his perfect forehead and covered his deep love of books. He furrows his brow and adjusts his beloved round glasses. Now I can see his big, beautiful, brown orbs. I can gaze into the depths of those eyes for eternity. My eyes then slowly but surely make their way towards his hand, which is holding the book. His hands are absolutely gorgeous, and they seem to be sculpted by god himself. They’re so delicate and perfect, and it’s like he’s made them just for this book. After a few seconds, he catches me staring at him, as I try hard not to make it obvious. He then smiles, the “boxy” smile of his making me flattered as he walks towards me. I stood there, frozen in place, ‘wanna join me for lunch?’ He said.

That’s where a beautiful story begins. ❤

Photo by Alexandru Acea on Unsplash

~Closure:

Doesn’t matter if the Moon stops shining one day, may our love remain alive forever, or our love will never die!

--

--

Sneh Gaurav
ILLUMINATION

In this world full of papers, I promise to write you letters.