Branding | Strategy

IHOP Vs. Taylor Swift: A Sound Discussion

Strategic sound is important, whether it’s an everyday use case or a premium audio experience.

Jeanna Isham
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2024

--

What Does Taylor Have to Do With IHOP?

I enjoy concerts, and I also enjoy pancakes. These are two very different topics (obviously), but I have specific expectations for both.

I expect the experience at a Taylor Swift concert to sound awesome. I mean epic! I should be engulfed in a sea of sound that screams Swifty! Premium sound at this concert is a must. If I am expected to shell out my life savings to go see Tay Tay, I expect to hear the best of the best.

However, sound experience expectations are not limited to just the obvious ones.

My sound experience at an IHOP is just as important. Although I wouldn’t expect “premium” sounds, I would expect the “right” sounds. For example, if I walk into an IHOP and hear Vivaldi playing in the background, I will be….confused. If I walk to my seat and hear the fire alarm going off, I will feel in danger and likely leave. If my feet make that “thwip thwip” sound as I walk over a sticky floor, I will judge how clean the plates are…and maybe…

--

--

Jeanna Isham
ILLUMINATION

Sound Strategist 🎵/ Podcaster 🎙️ / Author 📖 Subscribe to the Sound In Marketing Newsletter for monthly news ➡️ http://eepurl.com/gDxl6b